I´ve Got Nothing To Say!

©LilianaRodrigues

Lately I´ve been into collage. And many of these are a reaction to something I´ve experienced myself, read or listened to. Such is the case here. “I´ve Got Nothing To Say!” is a kick out of several situations:
– “Ask me Anything”, a song I really like by THE STROKES;
– as posted by universaljukebox on YouTube, in this excellent version the song is put together with Woody Allen footage
– and the article Douglas Haddow published on Addbusters on July 29th and which annoyed a great lot of people! I´ve been meaning to comment on it for a while now but never really got around to… well, this post is in its way also my response to it, except for in visual terms.

With these collages I am underlying – as it has been stated enough by others before me – that new content can indeed arise from quotation. Let us get over the same old dicussion on how much “stealing” has been done or how much the authors´ rights have been disrespected to embrace the idea that something as touched you in a way that you just have to do something about it! And the greatest thing is, with the tools available today and for the first time, you can do more than just talk to a couple of close friends about your referencies and how meaningfull you think they are, you can really be trigger to respond or react to something creatively!

Leave a Reply

